Meatless Monday! Menu: Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Popsicles!

You guys….

It’s hot.

It is so. hot.

And the amazing thing is, you would think it might be dry, what with how little rain we’ve gotten here, and the sad, crispy sound the brown grass makes when you walk on it.

 

 

death-valley-1303573_1280

 

Nope.

 

It still manages to fee like you’re walking through a hot, wet curtain into a steam sauna the second you step through the front door.

rain-forest-266863_1280

 

My little bag-making studio is in the spare bedroom at the far end of the house.

It is the room the central air has forgotten about.

Our poor AC unit has a little trouble keeping up in the insane heat of a swampy, South Carolina summer.  I’ve lived here for the past 4 years, and I’ve come to accept this.

But y’all…I have been working furiously to put together all of the sample bags in the new line for Wire Peacock, so that they’re all ready to go for our photo shoot next week, and my small little sweat shop has been living up to its name.

That is until I heard a knock on the door last week, and opened it to find a brand new portable air conditioner on my stoop.

My sweet, thoughtful parents sent it to me as a gift.

When I plugged that thing in for the first time, it read the ambient temperature in the room at 90 degrees F.

Good thing I’m not a chocolatier!

chocolate-1285928_1280

This little miracle of engineering has now transformed my studio into the coolest room in the house! It’s a beautiful 72 degrees in here has I write this, and I am once again reminded of how grateful I am for the simple creature comforts of modern technology!

But, I digress. You come here on Mondays for delicious meat-free meal inspiration, so on with the show!

popsicle-1482976_1280

I have to admit I’m phoning it in a bit this week, by simply sending you to a delectable recipe on another one of my favorite blogs, the Beaming Baker.

I’ve been so busy wrapping up the final details for our photo shoot at the end of the week, and getting all of these bags finished, that I didn’t have any time to make something myself, photograph the process, and edit the photos, but you will NOT be disappointed with the cool treat the Beaming Baker has in store for you!

Perhaps nothing goes better together than peanut butter, banana and chocolate, and Demeter has wrapped them all up together for an easy to make, icy dessert that is absolutely perfect for this heat wave we’re all surfing!

peanut-butter-350099_1280

If you don’t have a Popsicle mold on hand and can’t wait to try this awesome recipe, you could probably improvise by forgoing the stick, and using individual small sized storage containers, and then eating them like you would an Italian Ice with a spoon!

chocolate-1277002_1280

So gather your ingredients, and head on over the the Beaming Baker for the recipe! You will NOT be disappointed!

bananas-933201_1280

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Popsicles
INGREDIENTS
  • 4 medium bananas, sliced and frozen
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • ¼ cup + 2 tablespoons natural, unsalted peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons pure maple syrup

Here’s the recipe!

 

Let me know what you think of these! They’re definitely going to be a repeat in our house!

Leave a Reply

