Friday Find! Featuring: Art by EmilieB

It’s Friday!

I love Fridays to begin with, because I love sharing my cool artisan finds with you, but this Friday is extra cool, because my friends Britney and Fern are coming to visit!

This Friday, I’m going to share with you an artist who I am completely in awe of; Emilie Bayer.  She is a colored pencil portrait artist, and boy is she talented.

 

emilieb1

 

I’ve always had such respect for portrait artists.  Their ability to capture real life in a photographic realness is just boggling to my mind.  My sister has this type of ability when it comes to art, and I’ve always been jealous of it!

I can’t quite remember when I first came across Emilie’s shop, but I do remember the first piece of her art that I saw, and it’s still one of my favorites; this portrait of Emma Watson.

emilieb6

I mean…just, WOW!  I can’t tell you how much time I’ve spent staring at this thing, and I still can’t wrap my mind around how she makes that hair look so perfectly real.

 

Emilie does custom couple portraits…

emilieb3

 

And babies too.  Those cheeks are real enough to pinch!

emilieb4

 

Emilie also offer’s animal portraits, which to me is just a double whammy.  It’s one thing to be able to draw humans, but animals are a completely different ball game…and one which she has apparently mastered as well!

emilieb2

You can see in the screen-cap below the reference photo she used to create the portrait of this cat….it’s pretty much identical!  In fact, she manages to make the portraits look even better than the real thing! Now that’s talent!

emilieb5

For the entire month of July, Emilie is offering 20% her custom portrait work , so run on over to her etsy shop and check it out!  What a fantastic gift idea for, well…pretty much anyone!

 

Emilie can also be found on facebook and twitter, where you can see some really cool time-lapse videos of her working! So check her out, and let her know I sent you!

In the mean time, I’m off to spend a nice weekend with some great friends!

Happy Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

