Meatless Monday! Menu: Vegan Banana Cupcakes!

IMG_3697

 

Okay, I know this is kind of a cheat.  It’s not like cupcakes generally have meat in them, so what’s so magical about making them meatless?

 

Well…I guess…. nothing.

 

BUT, there is something magical about the fact that they don’t contain any eggs or dairy, and are still so moist ( I know. I hate that word too.  But its kind of necessary when talking about baking) and delicious, that you’re going to call them muffins instead of cupcakes to make yourself feel a little bit better about how many you ate in one sitting.

cat-1351612_640

could someone roll me to the window?

 

These banana cupcakes are super simple to make, and are a great way to use up some overripe bananas. ( Which happens to be how this post came into existence!)  IMG_3683

 

 

This recipe is one I’ve modified from a recipe my mother-in-law gave me, so I’m not quite sure of the original source, but if it looks familiar to you, let me know so I can give credit where its due!

I didn’t frost them, but I still call them cupcakes. They’re so good on their own, I think frosting them might be a bit too much, especially if you decide to add chocolate chips.  Something about the texture is more decadent to me (likely due to silkiness of the coconut milk) than a regular muffin, and lets face it…muffins are good, but cupcakes are delicious. So, cupcakes they shall remain!

If the photos look like a HUGE amount, it’s because I had a lot of smooshy bananas that needed using up, so I doubled the recipe!

 

 

Vegan Banana Cupcakes- makes 12-15 cupcakes

Dry Ingredients:

2 c  Unbleached, all-purpose flour          (you can sub whole-wheat flour here, but I’d only sub up to 1 cup, otherwise your cupcakes may end up a bit dense)

1/2 c Organic, un-bleached Cane Sugar      ( good old fashioned white sugar will work, but if you’re concerned about using vegan ingredients, do some research on your sugar- a lot of cane sugar is bleached using bone char.)

1/2 c Brown Sugar- Packed

1 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Salt

1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Ground Nutmeg

1/2 tsp Ground Clove

1/2 tsp Ground Ginger

 

Wet Ingredients:

1 c Mashed Banana     ( about 3 small-medium bananas or 2 large)

1 c  Canned Coconut Milk           (NOT the kind you find near the almond milk in the dairy section)

1/2 c Canola or other light oil

1 Tbsp apple cider or white vinegar

1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract

Optional:  1 1/2 c chopped nuts or chocolate chips           ( make sure you check dairy content on chocolate chips if you’re concerned with making the recipe vegan)

 

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F, and prepare your cupcake pan with liners, or thoroughly grease the wells with cooking spray.

IMG_3694

I ran out of liners and ended up having to do a combination of liners and greasing.

 

 

 

In a mixing bowl, Combine all of your dry ingredients, and whisk them together, making sure to evenly distribute all of the spices.

IMG_3687

 If you want to get super fancy, sift it all together.  But I’m going to be honest: ain’t nobody got time for that.

 

 

IMG_3691

It’s decidedly less pretty once its all whisked together.

 

In a separate, large mixing bowl, mash your bananas until most of the lumps are gone.

IMG_3684

My bananas were super soft, so I just used a fork, but a potato masher would work well too.

 

Using a whisk or a fork, add in the oil and coconut milk,  mixing them with the mashed bananas until they are combined.

IMG_3688

this is the resealable coconut milk I was talking about

IMG_3690

  • A note about the coconut milk: you want to use the good old fashioned coconut milk in a can, that is made for cooking.  The coconut ‘beverage’ that you find in the dairy case by the almond milk isn’t going to cut it here.  You can usually find canned coconut milk near the Asian food section of your grocery store.  There are also nifty cardboard cartons with pour spouts available now, which is what I tend to buy, since its easily resealed and stored in the fridge.

Now add the vanilla extract, and the vinegar, mixing until combined.

  • What? Vinegar?  Yes.  Vinegar.  It acts as a leavening agent in this recepe (the job of the egg in many baked goods) and reacts with the baking soda and baking powder to cause the cupcake to rise.  You won’t taste it. at all. I promise 😉

 

Now, gradually add your dry ingredients to the wet, stirring with a whisk.  Make sure to get rid of all the lumps, but don’t over-mix.  You just want everything nicely combined.

IMG_3692

half-way there…does this count as arms and back day?

IMG_3693

Ta-da!

Now its time to pour your batter into the prepared muffin tin.  I like to use a 1/4c measuring cup to make sure I don’t overfill the cups.  You want to leave a bit of room for these babies to rise! I didn’t get a picture here, as I’m quite a messy baker, and needed both hands for this part!

 

Pop your tins into the pre-heated oven, and let them bake for 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

IMG_3695

 

Let the cupcakes cool in the tin before you remove them, especially if you’ve opted to grease the tin instead of using cupcake liners.

IMG_3696

My husband requested chocolate chips in these, but I forgot to get a photo when I was adding them!

 

There you have it! Delicious and decadent banana cupcakes!  You can store them in a sealed container for up to a week (if you have any left to store!) Or do what I do and freeze them individually.  Then you can take one out of the freezer the night before, and pop it in a work or school lunch bag the next morning!

Let me know if you made these scrumptious treats, and if you changed anything to suit your needs, and how they came out!

Leave a Reply

