Back to the Drawing Board?

quote-791953_1920

When I started Wire Peacock, it was sort of on a whim.  I enjoyed knitting, crocheting, and sewing, and liked to make things.

That’s not quite accurate. I NEEDED to make things.

I won’t bore you with trying to explain what I mean by that, but I will let Pearl S. Buck do it for me.  Because this quote ( at least in my case) so perfectly describes what creating is to me, that I couldn’t possibly provide a better explanation if my very life depended upon it.

 

“The truly creative mind in any field is no more than this: A human creature born abnormally, inhumanly sensitive. To him… a touch is a blow, a sound is a noise, a misfortune is a tragedy, a joy is an ecstasy, a friend is a lover, a lover is a god, and failure is death. Add to this cruelly delicate organism the overpowering necessity to create, create, create — so that
without the creating of music or poetry or books or buildings or something of meaning, his very breath is cut off from him. He must create, must pour out creation. By some strange, unknown, inward urgency he is not really alive unless he is creating.”

-Pearl S. Buck

Seriously you guys, I have this entire thing TATTOOED on me.

 

 

So, with the encouragement of a dear friend, who was convinced I could sell my wares, I started taking orders.

 

And people started buying!

sewing-machine-925458_1920

Wire Peacock slowly evolved as I started sewing more, and found my true passion in creating handbags.  And I was evolving too.

 

Always an animal lover, I was learning more about animal cruelty and animal welfare, and made the decision not to use any animal products or by-products in my pieces, which by now was quite the hodge-podge!- Baby booties, large, lush lace shawls, wallets, wristlets, hats embellished with antique broaches….the list went on, and on!

 

The more time I spent on Wire Peacock, the more I resented the time I had to spend away from it, and eventually, my sweet husband in his infinite belief in me, told me that he thought I should quit my day-job and focus on Wire Peacock full time!

fireworks-1759_640

accurate representation of the inside of my brain in that moment.

 

I was very excited. And nervous…..and still….EXCITED!

But I knew things needed to change! Running a business is a lot different than running a hobby, and I needed to focus!

 

I combined my love of creating  handbags, with the items I knew were my best-sellers (those made from vegan-friendly leather), and started working on a product line that I know is going to knock some socks off!

 

But with a new, focused target market, comes a new business model, new branding….I’m sort of starting from scratch.

dough-1115628_1280

mmm! Vegan cupcakes anyone?

 

So I thought I would invite you all to come along with me, to take a peek behind the curtain at the absolutely crazy controlled chaos of (re) starting a small hand-made business!

 

You can follow along here as I make decisions on fabrics, unpack my new industrial sewing machine (you guys….Monday CAN NOT get here fast enough!!), document the many different aspects involved in running  a small hand-made business, and reveal a VERY exciting part of my new business model!

 

pig-1331337_1280

I’ll leave this photo of a sweet, happy, care-free pig  (who’s found…dare I say…sanctuary? ) here as a hint! 😉

 

You can also click here to sign up for Wire Peacock’s VIP e-mail list.  As a VIP member, you’ll have access to our exclusive VIP Facebook Group, behind the scenes information on our Re-Launch, and 15% off of your next purchase!

 

So come along on this crazy adventure with me.  I’ve got some goals.  Big, lofty ones that will make a difference in this world. And its going to take a lot of work, inordinate amounts of coffee, and likely some late night, insomnia-fueled, delirious blogging to make it happen.

But that’s okay. Because when I look back at it all and see the difference I’ve been able to make, no matter how small, it will be worth it.

We only get to go around once on this big ol’ Earth.  Might as well leave it better off than it was when we got here ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

